Databases

Obion County Public Library On-line Reference Catalog The catalog feature allows patrons at home to search the entire collection of materials at Obion County Public Library (with the exception of some genealogy material, see Tennessee Room for available resources). This database requires no username and password on library or home computer.

TEL Tennessee Electronic Library The Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) is a virtual library that you can access from your home PC, your school library computer lab, or your iPhone – anywhere with an internet connection. TEL provides access to over 400,000 electronic resources, including magazines, scholarly journals, podcasts, videos, e-books, test preparation materials, federal census records, Tennessee primary source materials, and more! No username or password needed.

Chilton’s Auto Repair Search for accurate, complete, and detailed repair information on your car, truck, van or SUV from the name you trust, Chilton. Professional technicians use it; now you can too! This database requires you to enter the password Obion.

Boating Exam Study Guide: The study guide for the Sate of TN Boating exam.

MedlinePlus MedlinePlus is an online information service produced by the United States National Library of Medicine. MedlinePlus provides encyclopedic information on health and drug issues and a directory of medical services. MedlinePlus Connect links patients or providers in electronic health record (EHR) systems to related MedlinePlus information on conditions or medications.

Books and Authors Books and Authors explores the latest genre fiction, essential non-fiction and the authors behind the titles. Browse these and other works, using tools that help you find great titles. This database requires no username and password on library or home computer.

Universal Class This premium service provides high quality, online courses to help you learn the skills needed to achieve your goals. These courses include lessons, exams, assignments, discussion boards, and instructors to help you master learning outcomes. Earn CEUs and Certificates for course completion. This service requires an Obion County library card number (View the Class List).

Regional eBook & Audio Book Download System You can check out and download digital materials including Adobe® EPUB eBooks, Adobe® PDF eBooks, OverDrive WMA Audiobooks, and OverDrive MP3 Audiobooks. To access these digital materials you need a valid library card, internet access, and a computer or device that meets the system requirements for the type(s) of digital materials you wish to check out. Click here to see what types of devices are compatible.

Trulia Database Since 2005, Trulia has been focused on building the most vibrant and valuable marketplace in the real estate industry. This database requires no username and password on library or home computer.

World Book The World Book Web is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites. This site requires you to live in the state of Tennessee.

Google Scholar Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions. These sources are from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. No username or password needed.

EBSCO’s Points of Reference Center This database from EBSCO contains thousands of full-text sources that provide information to multiple sides of a current issue. This database requires you enter the username Obion and password welcome.

Learning Express Library LearningExpress Library’s resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Register for your own account by entering your own username and selecting a password. After you receive a confirmation, proceed with the practice exam of your choice. If you return to the library and wish to continue taking a test, or start a new one, – register as a Returning User.

Science Direct Database Science Direct Database is the most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web. With over 410 million scientific items indexed at last count, it allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents, institutional repository, and website information. No username or password required

Tals.org Civil Legal System TALS fulfills its mission by: ensuring that every low-income Tennessean has timely access to the civil legal justice system, identifying the conditions adversely affecting low-income Tennesseans, implementing strategies, and developing resources to change those conditions. No username or password is required.

The Tennessee Justice Bus The TN Justice Bus is a mobile law office that brings technology to rural and underserved communities.  No username or password is required.

Tel4Kids Tel4Kids is a great interactive site that includes storyboards, audio books, read along books, easy books, beginning readers, juvenile fiction and non-fiction, juvenile reference books, DVD, and audio books. No username or password is required.

Life Quote Database You'll find more than 36,000 quotations from over 6,000 famous people, such as Winston Churchill,  Mahatma Gandhi, Mother Teresa, Mark Twain, William Shakespeare, Confucius, Abraham Lincoln, Martin Luther King, Jr. 

Lantern Lantern is the search platform for the collections of the Media History Digital Library, an open access initiative led by David Pierce and Eric Hoyt. The Media History Digital Library (MHDL) digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning. No username or password is required.

Glass Door Career Search Glassdoor allows you to read reviews and interview questions from employee candidates as well as view salaries and benefits from employees. Millions of jobs are featured on the site.

Duolingo Language Learning Duolingo is a language-learning platform that may be accessed through either a website or an app. Duolingo offers 59 different language courses across 23 languages with additional courses in development.